first_img TOP COACH St Catherine Primary School’s ‘A’ and ‘B’ teams were too good for the rest at the 19th Scholastic Team Chess Tournament at the University of Technology (UTech) auditorium last Sunday. The school captured the top two places in the Open Primary/Prep schools category. The Mikhail Solomon-coached team also won the girls’ primary/prep section. Solomon also led St Jago High to first place in the junior high category while Hillel Academy ‘A’ took the Under-8 title. St Catherine ‘A’ won five of six matches and drew one to finish with 11 points, one more than the ‘B’ team, with five wins and one loss, the same as third-place Sts Peters and Paul Preparatory. Hillel ‘A’ were fourth with nine points and Hillel ‘B’ fifth with eight points. Winning coach Solomon hailed his teams’ impressive performances throughout the tournament. “It was an excellent competitions and we had competitors in all section. Our ‘A’ (team) came first and the ‘B’ (team) came second. The girls won the female section and St Jago the junior high, so we couldn’t ask for more,” he said. He added that “the sky is the limit as they (kids) are working harder to continue their improvement. But to win the junior high and the Open in the same year is remarkable, and then (to win) the female section is the icing on top of the cake.” St Catherine topped the female primary/prep section with 10 points ahead of Immaculate on eight points. St Jago scored nine points to win the junior high (first to third form) title, ahead of St Catherine high with eight points. Hillel were under-eight champions with a perfect five wins and ten points from five games. Solomon was top coach for the open and female primary/prep section and junior high category, while Hillel’s Geoffrey Byfield was the top under-eight coach. There were also board prizes for St Catherine’s Romaine Walters and Nathaniel Hope and Mona Prep’s Marvonni Myers in the open primary/prep section. In the girls’ section, Andean Watson and Talishe Tennant of St Catherine and Gabrielle Watson of Immaculate were the board prize winners. For the junior high schools, the board prizes went to St Jago’s Tajae Morgan and Adani Clarke and St Catherine’s Shaheem Richards, while for the under-eights, Liguanea’s Newton Hall, Harrison Prep’s Joshua Powell, and Hillel’s Cameron Brown were the board prize winners.last_img read more

Posted in ahvgdsim