first_imgRichie Hogan scores the game’s first goal. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHOKilkenny 2-13Limerick 0-17TWO GOALS AT CRUCIAL times from Richie Hogan and Eoin Larkin were enough to book Kilkenny’s spot in this year’s All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship final despite Limerick dominating for large spells of today’s semi-final.While Limerick were on top, particularly through the accuracy of Shane Dowling, their dominance never really showed on the scoreboard and it wasn’t until the 19th minute, when Dowling pointed his first free of the day, that they established a three point lead for the first time; 0-7 to 0-4.That gap was down to one a minute before the break but TJ Ryan must have been happy with what he’d seen in the opening 34 minutes.However, any half-time team talk he may have been planning was radically changed when Hogan burst through the previously tight Limerick defence to raise the green flag and send Kilkenny into the break two points in front; 1-9 to 0-10. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHOA nervy second half, played in atrocious conditions at times, produced just five scores from Kilkenny as Limerick once more dominated proceedings at headquarters.After falling further behind on 40 minutes, the Treaty fought back with Dowling and Declan Hannon in particular causing headaches for Brian Cody’s men as Limerick hit five points without reply to re-take the lead in the 54th minute.However, just as it looked like the 2013 Munster champions would secure their first win over Kilkenny in the championship at Croke Park since 1973, Eoin Larkin flicked home Hogan’s long range free to raise the green flag and put the Cats back in front.When Hannon scored his fifth point of the day, with nine minutes remaining, it looked like we were in for a grandstand finish. However, Limerick failed to trouble the scoreboard operators for the rest of the game as Kilkenny ran out two point winners to reach their 13th final in the last 16 seasons.Scorers for Kilkenny: TJ Reid 0-5 (0-5f), Richie Hogan and Eoin Larkin 1-0 each, Colin Fennelly 0-4, Michael Fennelly, Padraig Walsh 0-2 each.Scorers for Limerick: Shane Dowling 0-7 (0-5f), Declan Hannon 0-5, Graeme Mulcahy 0-2, David Breen, Donal O’Grady and Sean Tobin 0-1 each.KILKENNY1. David Herity (Dunnamaggin)2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)3. JJ Delaney (Fenians)4. Jackie Tyrrell (James Stephens)5. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)6. Brian Hogan (O’Loughlin Gaels)7. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)8. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)9. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own)11. Michael Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)13. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)10. Padraigh Walsh (Tullaroan)12. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)14. Mark Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels)15. Eoin Larkin (James Stephens)Subs:21. Henry Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks) for Kelly (52)23. Richie Power (Carrickshock) for Walsh (54)LIMERICK1. Nicky Quaid (Effin)2. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)4. Seamus Hickey (Murroe/Boher)5. Paudie O Brien (Kilmallock)6. Wayne McNamara (Adare)7. Gavin O Mahony (Kilmallock)8. James Ryan (Garryspillane)9. Paul Browne (Bruff)10. David Breen (Na Piarsaigh)12. Declan Hannon (Adare)11. Donal O’Grady (Captain) (Granagh/Ballingarry)13. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)14. Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh)15. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)Subs19. Sean Tobin (Murroe-Boher) for Downes (41)22. Thomas Ryan (South Liberties) for Breen  (62)23. Niall Moran (Ahane) for O’Grady (67)Referee: James McGrath (Westmeath).Kilkenny power past Waterford in extra-time of All-Ireland minor semi-finalDes Cahill and Joe Brolly got into a heated exchange over the doctor push incident at Croker yesterdaylast_img read more

Posted in jeljoqyb